Dianne Salerni author Dianne Salerni author Dianne Salerni books Dianne Salerni blog Dianne Salerni Appearances Dianne Salerni contact Dianne Salerni teachers
Dianne Salerni : Writer of Teen and Middle Grade Fiction | Lovin’ MG

Lovin’ MG

 

Writing YA is awesome. Hearing from teen readers who loved We Hear the Dead and The Caged Graves has been a high point of my publishing experience.

But here are 3 reasons why I’m loving Middle Grade:

 

1. BOOK LOGS

cropped book log

2. SNAIL MAIL

fan mail

3. FAN FICTION

This is called: If Jax Could Teach Evangeline to Text  and it even includes a little MG-style “shipping”

Fan fic page 1

Fan fic page 2

And the book’s been out less than two months.

Yes, that’s the enthusiasm of middle grade readers.

I think I’m  in love.

22 Responses to Lovin’ MG

  1. Aw! *squeee* Too stinkin’ cute! Yes, MG fans let it all (their love and enthusiasm) hang out there and it must be an absolute delight!

  2. I taught 8th grade and love middle school kids. Such a great age to write for. Congrats on these awesome pieces of mail. 🙂

    • DianneSalerni says:

      Thanks, Kelly!
      My students have been an appreciative audience, but I’m thrilled that some of these come from kids who aren’t students and therefore can’t be jonesin’ for an A!

  3. All of those would make a writer’s day! I particularly like the text exchange–brilliant!

  4. Angela Brown says:

    I do believe I will be smiling the rest of the day after reading this. TOOOO CUTE!

  5. So agree with you about MG readers. And they have so much more time to read for pleasure. It’s a sad commentary on how busy it gets for them once they get to high school.

    • DianneSalerni says:

      Natalie,
      Agreed! In our high school they read classics and nothing modern unless it is non-fiction. Modern YA is sneered at. 🙁

  6. J E Oneil says:

    That is so awesome! I think the “text transcript” is hilarious. It also means you have your very own fan fiction. Congrats! 🙂

    • DianneSalerni says:

      Jeanne, Yes, the texting cracks me up — especially since there is no modern technology on the eighth day. Texting is impossible, which shows me this student really is writing a fictional addendum to my book, imagining a revision of the rules that will allow the characters to engage in her favorite activity!

  7. Those are awesome. When kids respond, it’s something special.

    • DianneSalerni says:

      Alex, I have always loved it when readers contacted me after reading my work. But nothing has been as cool as these kids’ responses.

  8. Julie Dao says:

    HA! Those “text messages” are precious! What a great way to get feedback on your writing. It must be so cool to hear from your target audience!

  9. Elise Fallson says:

    That is awesome and the texting one is super cute. Getting fan mail is something special. 🙂

    • DianneSalerni says:

      Elise, yes this was pretty cool, especially all showing up within a week or so.

  10. Robin says:

    I am not commenting on them all, but I went back and read everything that I missed. The settings tool is not working on blogger so I can delete blogs out of my reader and I can’t add any more by copy/pasting the URL and hitting “Add.” Ugghh. I will stick with it and hope that the settings tool begins to work soon.

    That said… this cracked me up. I love the text message from Jax to Evangeline. That was seriously CUTE. That kid has a wonderful imagination. I can see why you are loving MG!

  11. Hilary says:

    Hi Diane .. that’s just wonderful and no wonder you’re so chuffed! Cheers Hilary